32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

25. Pushover

with 2 comments

Tonight I finally broke 100. In fact, I completed 115 good form pushups. Okay, the last ten were not my best form ever, but I made it. And, no, I didn’t do all 115 in one go. These were spread over six sets with timed resting intervals. But this is more pushups than I’ve ever done.

I’m on week four of the One Hundred Pushups challenge. I have two weeks left and I’ve been promised by this website that if I stick to the program I’ll be able to do 100 pushups in one fell swoop, without interruptions.  I’m not exactly sure how that’ll work, because I’m telling you, by the time I get to the sixth set, my arms are jelly. But I’m trusting.

According to my calculations, I have done 873 pushups. Sounds like a boatload, doesn’t it. And then, of course, I had to go to Wikipedia and find that the world record for most pushups in one hour is 1940 by some Paddy Doyle (who is probably really ugly and otherwise untalented anyway).

That means in four weeks I’m still some 800 pushups shy of what Mr. Paddy does in one hour. And guess what the record is for most non-stop pushups. You ready? Here it goes…10507. Believe it! That record belongs to a fellow named Charlie Hockey, who obviously has no life.

So, what? I’ve certainly done more pushups in the past few weeks than I’ve ever done in 30 some years. And I’m happy and quite proud, if I do say so myself. I already feel myself doing them better and better. And whether or not I am able to do 100 of them at once, well, I don’t know. We’ll see.

Today’s points:

WW Points: 38.5 (of 31) Stupid French Fries

Pushups: 115

Written by Sergio

March 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Holy fs…that’s awesome! Congrats!

    Trish

    March 25, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  2. Your tenacity in this 100 pushup challenge has sparked our interest, and Lauren and I started the challenge this morning. Hang in there, you’ve got 2 days left in your first month, I bet you’ve got some real measurable change now to be proud of.

    syockel

    March 29, 2010 at 10:22 am


Leave a Reply

