32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

12. What, me workout?

with one comment

Having skipped my morning treadmill sessions on two consecutive days due to sickness, I was very nervous I might drop off completely. I joked earlier in the year that my one and only resolution was to finish everything I…  But I have a sad and telling history of incomplete projects and unmet goals, so that was more truth than jest. That is, in fact, the whole reason I’m in the midst of this birthmonth project – because I didn’t keep up the good work I started a year ago.

As I hit snooze this morning, I could feel it again…that little demon on my shoulder saying, “forget it, you need to sleep, you’re already counting points.” It was so tempting, so very tempting. After the snooze timed out and I realized I was feeling significantly better than the day before, I somehow managed to jump out of bed, get dressed and head for the fitness center. Before I knew it, I had been on the treadmill, sweating for 49 minutes (only eleven to go!).

Exercise is much harder than portion control for me. I once went on a weeklong fast and did just fine. But, regular, vigorous exercise…well, there is nothing about that that I find remotely appealing. So today was a victory. And I’m learning to enjoy day-to-day victories. And because of that, it’s okay that I went over my points tonight. I hadn’t used any of my weekly splurge points and I really had to have that beer in honor of a friend’s retirement. And I also had to have that vegetable korma and garlic naan before the show.

And tomorrow morning will be a new day, and I’ll try to knock that demon on its no-good, lazy ass all over again.

Today’s numbers:

WW Points: 38 (of 31)

Treadmill: 60 mins (4.5% incline, 3.5 speed, 416.5 cals, 3.50 miles)

A helpful tip: I have noticed I am much more eager to get out of bed and on the treadmill if I set out my workout clothes and shoes the night before. If I don’t have to scramble to find my clothes in the morning, that’s one less excuse not to go. Set out your workout clothes ahead of time, every night.

Written by Sergio

March 12, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats! Winning the a.m. battle is huge…and something to feel fabulous about. And thanks for the workout clothes tip—I’m going to try it.

    Trish

    March 13, 2010 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

