32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

11. Rock Band

with 2 comments

This morning the spirit was willing, but the flesh was weak. As much as I wanted to hit the treadmill, I still had an achy body that wouldn’t allow me to get out of bed until it had slept for at least eight hours. So, the day progressed and I couldn’t get to it. This means I’ll have to go Saturday and Sunday instead.

What I did have tonight was band practice. It was a good one, too…lots of energy, lots of loud and lots of sweat. As I went for a break, I realized how much of a workout I was getting and I wondered if I could count this as activity. So when I got home, I looked it up, and sure enough this website tells me I burned 722 calories while banging the drums.

With that and my pushups, I’d say I did okay for still being kind of sick and lethargic. Also, after chatting with a number of WW friends, I’ve been convinced to consume all my points. So I’m about to have a small glass of orange juice, which will bring me right up to my allotment. So, all in all, it was an okay day. There’s always tomorrow.

Today’s numbers:

WW Points:  31 (of 31)

Rocking out: 2 hours

Pushups: 74

Written by Sergio

March 11, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! 722 huh? I think I might just go join a band, sounds a lot more fun than spin class… but I would have to learn to play the drums first!
    Good job Sergio, your blog is motivating me to keep track as well… even contemplating joining WW are you doing it online? Is it really helpful?
    Keep up the good work!

    Ceci

    March 12, 2010 at 8:45 am

    • Well, to be quite honest, I’m skeptical of the 722 calories. But I was sweating a lot, so I’m sure a decent amount of calories were burned in the end. I tried a spin class once (in Oklahoma, like ten or eleven years ago) and I lasted about three and a half minutes. Silly me, thinking “oh, I like riding bicycles, I can do that!” Ha. Of course I was way worse out of shape then. I like WW online because they have a super easy-to-use iPhone app with which I can quickly track my points as I’m eating. That’s the best part for me about it. If you don’t need the meetings, then I think it works very nicely. Thanks for your comment and kind wishes!

      Sergio

      March 12, 2010 at 10:09 am


Leave a Reply

