32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

5. Nodding my head, but not like yeah

with one comment

One of my favorite things about having season tickets to the symphony is making fun of the people who doze off. I keep a watchful eye, waiting for the inevitable drumroll, to see them shake ‘n wake. Oh my goodness, it makes me laugh so hard inside. And then there are those who sleep through the whole concerto and wake up to seamlessly join the applause and nod their head in approval. Who are they kidding? Seriously.

And tonight I was the butt of my own joke. Only it wasn’t as funny, it was actually quite embarrassing and frustrating. I wanted to listen, especially to the Beethoven (the Crumb, not so much, but it was impossible to sleep during Haunted Landscape, thanks to the large percussion compliment). Emily had to elbow me a couple of times as I nodded off, and with each prodding I could just feel the mocking eyes and quiet chuckles of people in the rows behind us.

It has been a long week. I’ve gotten out of bed at 5:00 every morning and fast-walked on the treadmill an hour at a time. I’ve also done lots of pushups, weight training, yoga and pilates. I’m tired. And sore. Very sore. And on top of that I went to happy hour with my coworkers. There was no way I was gonna stay awake in a warm, dimly lit room with Beethoven after all that. No way in hell.

Today’s Numbers

WW Points: 36 (of 32) Oops! Considering I racked up 31 activity points, and I had leftover points every night; I’m not too worried about it.

Treadmill: 60 mins (4.5% incline, 3.5 speed, 406 calories, 3.43 miles)

Sangrias: 4

Written by Sergio

March 5, 2010 at 10:11 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that you listed your sangrias.

    Sarah

    March 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm


Leave a Reply

