32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

3. Sore Loser

with 3 comments

There are muscles in my body that I hadn’t used in months, and they’re complaining today. But one of the things I learned from last year’s active lifestyle of mine is that the best way to deal with sore muscles is to keep using them. That’s probably not scientific or healthy, so don’t quote me. All I know is that if I hadn’t pushed myself as hard as I did today, I wouldn’t be able to get out of my desk chair tomorrow without moaning and groaning.

So as I got out of bed, whining muscles and all, I marched my way down to the treadmill. My power song today was Any Way You Want It, by Journey. I was grooving, I was walking the hell out of that treadmill and then halfway through the song I started to think that having it any way I want it is actually what got me in this mess in the first place. That’s precisely what I’ve been doing since early summer of 2009, having it my way. The lazy way, the overeating way, the two pints a night way, the…oh, screw it. That song’s not about weight loss, it’s probably about sex or drugs, or both.

Working is very much against my nature. In fact, I have a hard time understanding how running twelve miles at a time (like my friends Jon and Erin do) isn’t downright masochistic. But I know what I want, or rather, what I want to lose. And I know that I’m gonna be sore, really sore, before I get it. It’s not the way I want it, but I suppose it is the way I need it.

Today’s Numbers

WW Points: 28 (of 32)

Treadmill: 65 mins (3.5% incline, 3.5 speed, 409.7 calories, 3.76 miles)

Weight training: 30 mins

Yoga: 60 mins

Written by Sergio

March 3, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Any Way You Want It”– thanks for the idea! I’m looking for new inspirational gym-goin’ songs, because I’m trying to be a sore loser, too. Unfortunately, I seem to have gained two pounds.

    Go, Sergio!

    Oh, and P.S. Doesn’t it sound like he’s saying “She loves to move / She loves to groove / She loves eleven things”?

    Chandra Blackwell

    March 4, 2010 at 8:46 am

    • Ooh, maybe she does love eleven things?! Thank you for your encouraging comment. May I recommend you include a few Toto tunes in your playlist as well? They really keep me going. Cheers!

      Sergio

      March 4, 2010 at 9:16 am

  2. i tried the 100 pushups program on my own once & only made it through (i think) week 3. what killed me was being able to do over 30 pushups for the intial test & then having to stick to that higher level all the way through the program.

    tim

    March 6, 2010 at 9:06 am


Leave a Reply

