32 Pounds Ago

another birthmonth project

1 . Order your free, miracle prayer cloth right now!

with 6 comments

Our building’s fitness center is outfitted with ellipticals, weight machines and treadmills. There are three televisions, and the good treadmill has one placed directly above it. That’s what makes it the good one, and today I got up early enough to beat my neighbors to it. Channel surfing twice as fast as I was walking, an infomercial for a blood of Jesus prayer cloth caught my attention. The messenger, a curious man who probably burns more calories in thirty minutes of peddling than I did on the treadmill, promised all kinds of miracles from healing to wealth. But you had to act quickly and order, right now!

I wouldn’t mind a miracle. You see, thirty two pounds ago (or, exactly one year, if you prefer time measures) I was finally nearing my ideal weight. The year before that, I had transitioned from a sedentary, overeating lifestyle to one of daily exercise and sensible eating. I was very happy. I bought sexy jeans and pointy shoes. I felt like a new person. And when my birthday came along, I decided to celebrate big by indulging in my favorite food, veggieburgers! I was exercising so much and eating so well, that I lost weight even while eating 31 veggieburgers in 31 days.  A couple of months later, though, I found myself lapsing back into my old, lazy ways. Tons of other fun and happy things were happening around me; I got distracted, and now I’m back where I started.

There will be no 31 veggieburgers sequel. Instead, I intend to celebrate my 32nd birthmonth (birthdays are for sissies) by kick starting my weight loss journey. And I know just the thing to do…it’s a bit of ancient wisdom, a twofold key to being fit and healthy, and the only tried and true way: eat less and exercise more. To accomplish this, I will be using the Weight Watchers system and exercising one to two hours a day. You might say, “What’s the big deal? Tons of people do that.” Yeah, but I hate, double-hate, exercise and I love, double-love, eating. “Oh yeah, you and half the world.” Okay, but I’m going to blog about it. “Yeah, ‘cause what the world needs now is just one more weight loss blog!” Okay, now you’re just being rude.

As I laughed at the man peddling the miracle cloth on TV this morning, I thought, “wouldn’t it be nice if that really worked?!” First thing I would do is pray for a faster metabolism, like that of my friend in college who lived on a diet of Sonic and Dr. Pepper and was thin as a rail.  I picked up my phone to write down the number (just for laughs, seriously!) and then I realized I already had a miracle cloth, sitting in front of me: it’s called a gym towel.

Have any tips, advice, questions or jokes? Leave a comment!

Today’s Numbers

WW Points: 27.5 (of 32)

Treadmill: 60 mins (3.5% incline, 3.5 speed, 378 calories, 3.46 miles)

Pilates: 20 mins

Pushups: 12

Written by Sergio

March 1, 2010 at 9:50 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go, Sergio, go! You’re very brave to make this a public birthday journey. You’re going to do it!

    Sarah

    March 1, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    • Thank you so much, Sarah. I may never run an ultra, but I can walk a mean 4 miles 🙂 Cheers!

      secamode

      March 1, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  2. As always, you will inspire others!

    Beto

    March 1, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    • Thanks, Beto. If I can just keep myself inspired, I’ll be very happy!

      secamode

      March 1, 2010 at 11:50 pm

  3. Started out my morning with a laugh – sexy jeans and pointy shoes! Looking forward to following the blog for your birthmonth and good luck with your new project.

    Lauren

    March 2, 2010 at 8:48 am

    • Thanks, Lauren. I have found humor to be a rather effective coping mechanism! Hope to see you guys again soon. We didn’t have enough time in London 🙂

      secamode

      March 2, 2010 at 8:51 am


Leave a Reply

